Skip to content
January 13, 2014 / another1ofthose

Stop!

Life is a mixture of lessons, good moments and bad ones, a handful of disappointments and a sea of hope and dreams; and it’s for us to make the best of it by making the right choices.

It would’ve been easier if we had the recipe for the life we want to have, but we wouldn’t enjoy it that much if we didn’t work hard at it.

Our decisions are like ingredients that we add to the boiling pot of life, which boils with no end. We taste it from time to time to make sure the flavor is just right. Sometimes it is too sour, sometimes it is too sweet. We just have to figure out the right decisions that we should make.

I like many others have been through ups and downs, highs and lows, but I’m still struggling to figure out the exact way I want my life to turn out to be. I took some bad decisions as well as good ones, but I still learned from the bad ones more.

Finding someone who is worth the time and the effort is quite challenging especially in a society like the one we live in. If finding a suitable devoted decent guy isn’t hard enough, try doing so in a society where you cannot be who you are. you have to fake a life to live one.

Society in Lebanon has taken its toll on the LGBTQ community. Regardless of what it might think of us or say about us, it took its toll on how we see ourselves and the way we think of our future.

You see, it’s really rare to find someone who is looking for something stable in this community because we no longer see the future we want to have, but rather see the future, society wants us to live. We don’t want to commit to someone because we can’t do anything about it. We only go on hookups to prove to society that this is all we do. That is what they see and that is what we are giving them.

We must not become passive of what people say about us to a point that we only do what they think we do. We should stop being the prisoners of their judgments, we should stop being the slaves of their thoughts. We should stop killing what we truly are and start working on what we want to be; on what we want to have.

No! I don’t want to be what this society thinks I am, I don’t want to live the way they think I should live. I don’t want to just go on with my life as if it was just meant to be like this. Homophobes are everywhere, they are my parents, my teachers and my friends. But I still don’t let them get to me. I don’t want to live by their standards which are based on traditions.I want this all to change for the best. For the best of my life and my future; for the best of this world.

And as quote goes “the only thing constant in life, is change”, perhaps we should work on ourselves before working on those around us.

When I started writing this post, I was going to share an experience I had, but I guess sometimes your words guide you to say what you truly want to say.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. blebnani / Jan 13 2014 5:16 PM

    I think it is still worth to share you story/ experience 😉

    • helium balloons / Jan 13 2014 9:25 PM

      I agree. I think we can all benefit from your experience 😛

      • another1ofthose / Jan 13 2014 9:59 PM

        Hahahaha. Will share it in another post 🙂

Leave a Reply

Naqyyd

Queer Arabism | Spleen | Exile & Orientalism

THE L BLOG

A Gay Girl's Life in Lebanon

Disclosed Reflections

Thoughts on the queer movement in Lebanon

My Life in Blog

The Story Of A Guy With Too Much Time On His Hands.

lebqueer

Queer News

Helium Balloons by Adam Younes

A Story of Our Secrets

Lebanon's IDAHO

International Day Against Homophobia

Dr. Hasan Abdessamad

Health, Human Rights & I

love party

Planned a lesbian wedding. Questioned everything except the open bar.

shadesofgay

M/M Romance by the author of Protection and Fifteen Shades of Gay (For Pay)

GAY'S RIGHT AS HUMAN BEING

Feel Free to Read and To Share this blog to your Gay Friend.

2 Chicks and a Baby

2 Women, 1 Family, 1 Love, Our Experience.

MiMi Trans blog | I can show you my true colors can you handle it ?

Rainbow colors all over, I can show you my true colors can you handle it ?

BLebnani بلبناني

An LGBT blog in Arabic & spoken Lebanese

COWOK GANTENG

A light in the dark!

Adam's First Chapter

A light in the dark!

Danny Ramadan

A gay Middle Eastern Man telling his stories

b as in beirut

ب كما في بيروت

Livin' La Vida Loca

You thought being gay was a mess? Try being gay in Lebanon....

A light in the dark!

